Skip to main content

Department Coordinators

The Honors Coordinator serves as the liaison between the Honors Program and students in the various disciplines across campus. They refer students to possible mentors, help identify faculty experts in their discipline, inform students of research opportunities, and can assist students in identifying possible thesis topics.


Coordinators provide department-specific guidelines for the Honors Thesis Proposal, and are a participating member of the thesis committee from the proposal stage through to the defense. Check the list of department coordinators to find yours.

Department Name Phone Email Office
Accounting Mark Zimbelman 801-422-1227 mz@byu.edu 514 TNRB
Africana Studies Leslie Hadfield 801-422-8013 leslie_hadfield@byu.edu 2135 JFSB
American Studies Jamin Rowan 801-422-6589 jamin_rowan@byu.edu 4143 JFSB
Ancient Near East Studies Matthew Grey 801-422-2441 matthew_grey@byu.edu 365G JSB
Animation Sam Nielson 801-422-1486 sam.nielson@byu.edu 1100L WCCB
Anthropology Jacob Hickman 801-422-9373 jhickman@byu.edu 860 KMBL
Art Brian Christensen 801-422-2621 brian_christensen@byu.edu 215 B66
Art History Heather Belnap 801-422-8242 heather_belnap@byu.edu 3051 JFSB
Asian and Near Eastern Languages (ANEL) Stephen Ricks 801-422-5428 Stephen_Ricks@byu.edu 3059 JFSB
Ancient and Near Eastern Studies (ANES) Cecilia Peek 801-422-4564 cecilia_peek@byu.edu 3035 JFSB
Asian Studies Marc Yamada 801-422-2550 my@byu.edu 3037 JFSB
Biology & Bioinformatics Steven Peck 801-422-4145 steven_peck@byu.edu 4145 LSB
Biophysics Roy Silcox 801-422-5267 roy_silcox@byu.edu 2026 LSB
Biotech & Biodiversity Craig Coleman 801-422-5145 Craig_Coleman@byu.edu 5134 LSB
Business & PreBusiness Mark Hansen 801-422-4362 mh_hansen@byu.edu 578 TNRB
Cell Biology and Physiology Amber Gonda 801-422-0327 amber_gonda@byu.edu 2028 LSB
Chemical Engineering Bill Pitt 801-422-2589 pitt@byu.edu 330W EB
Chemistry & Biochemistry Wally Paxton 801-422-4917 paxton@chem.byu.edu E111 BNSN
Civil & Construction Engineering Greg Macfarlane 801-422-8505 gregmacfarlane@byu.edu 430M EB
Communications Pamela Brubaker 801-422-5591 pamela_brubaker@byu.edu 360A BRMB
Communications Disorders Dallin Bailey 801-422-3876 dallinjb@byu.edu 164 TLRB
Comparative Literature Larry Peer 801-422-5529 larry_peer@byu.edu 3023 JFSB
Computer Science Seth Holladay 801-422-6490 holladay@cs.byu.edu 2220 TMCB
Cybersecurity Derek Hansen 801-422-7467 dlhansen@byu.edu 450 EB
Dance Marin Roper 801-422-3345 marinleggat@byu.edu
Design & Graphic Design Doug Thomas 801-422-0956 doug_thomas@byu.edu UPB
Economics John Stovall 801-422-7539 johnestovall@byu.edu 2113 WVB
Education Bryant Jensen 801-422-3241 bryant_jensen@byu.edu 206-H MCKB
Electrical & Computer Engineering Karl Warnick 801-422-1732 warnick@byu.edu 450 EB
English Aaron Eastley 801-422-1695 aaron_eastley@byu.edu 4119 JFSB
Environmental Science Craig Coleman 801-422-5145 craig_coleman@byu.edu 5134 LSB
European Studies Rob McFarland 801-422-8331 robmc@byu.edu 3104 JFSB
Exercise Science Ron Hager 801-422-1183 hager@byu.edu 228B SFH
Experience Design & Mngmnt Brian Hill 801-422-1287 Brian_Hill@byu.edu W-453 TNRB
Family Life Mark Butler 801-422-8786 Mark.Butler@byu.edu 2093 JFSB
French Daryl Lee 801-422-9055 dlee@byu.edu 3133 JFSB
Geography Sam Otterstrom 801-422-7751 samuel_otterstrom@byu.edu 690F SWKT
Geological Sciences Josh LeMonte 801-422-7037 lemonte@byu.edu S341 ESC
Genetics, Genomics & Biotech Craig Coleman 801-422-5145 Craig_Coleman@byu.edu 5134 LSB
German & Russian Studies Rob McFarland 801-422-8331 robmc@byu.edu 3104 JFSB
History & Family History Daren Ray 801-422-0510 daren.ray@byu.edu 2117 JFSB
Illustration Justin Kunz 801-422-1826 justin.kunz@byu.edu 106 WCO
Information Systems Steve Liddle 801-422-8792 liddle@byu.edu 738C TNRB
Information Tech Derek Hansen 801-422-7467 dlhansen@byu.edu 450 EB
Interdisciplinary Humanities Michael Call 801-422-1616 michael_j_call@byu.edu 3039 JFSB
International Development Darren Hawkins 801-422-8660 dhawkins@byu.edu 745 SWKT
International Relations Scott Cooper 801-422-4053 scott_cooper@byu.edu 762 KMBL
Italian Marie Orton 801-422-3389 marie_orton@byu.edu 3134-B JFSB
Latin American Studies Jeff Shumway 801-422-8943 jshumway@byu.edu 2143 JFSB
Linguistics & English Language Don Chapman 801-422-8738 don_chapman@byu.edu 4064-B JFSB
Management (Strategy, Entrepreneurship, HR) Mark Hansen 801-422-4362 mh_hansen@byu.edu 578 TNRB
Manufacturing Engineering Michael Miles 801-422-1858 mmiles@byu.edu 265 CTB
Marketing & Global Supply Chain Mark Hansen 801-422-4362 mh_hansen@byu.edu 578 TNRB
Mathematics Davi Obata 801-422-9088 davi.obata@mathematics@byu.edu 310 TMCB
Math Education Keith Leatham 801-422-2057 kleatham@byu.edu 193A TMCB
Mechanical Engineering Brian Jensen 801-422-6030 bdjensen@byu.edu 350G EB
Micro & Molecular Biology David Erickson 801-422-1981 david_erickson@byu.edu 3133 LSB
Middle East Studies & Arabic Joshua Gubler 801-422-2829 jgub@byu.edu 764 KMBL
Music Neil Thornock 801-422-1482 neil_thornock@byu.edu 4229 MB
Neuroscience Rebekka Matheson 801-422-2954 rebekka_matheson@byu.edu 1030 KMBL
Nursing Marie Prothero 801-422-7823 marie.prothero@byu.edu 533 KMBL
Nutrition, Dietetics, Food Science Jeff Tessem 801-422-9082 jeffery_tessem@byu.edu S-243 ESC
Philosophy Ryan Christensen 801-422-4821 ryan_christensen@byu.edu 4085 JFSB
Photography Paul Adams 801-422-8742 paul_adams@byu.edu 1169 WCCB
Physics & Astronomy Karine Chesnel 801-422-5687 kchesnel@byu.edu N347 ESC
Plant & Landscape Systems Craig Coleman 801-422-5145 Craig_Coleman@byu.edu 5134 LSB
Political Science Darin Self 801-422-4424 darin_self@byu.edu 790 KMBL
Product & User Experience Design Richard Fry 801-422-4445 rfry@byu.edu 265 CTB
Psychology Bruce Brown 801-422-6365 bruce_brown@byu.edu 1098 KMBL
Public Health Len Novilla 801-422-9356 len_novilla@byu.edu 2064 LSB
Sociology Michael Cope 801-422-9265 michaelrcope@byu.edu 2034 JFSB
Spanish & Portuguese Greg Stallings 801-422-1273 gregory_stallings@byu.edu 3166 JFSB
Statistics Del Scott 801-422-7054 scottd@stat.byu.edu 2152B WVB
Technology & Engineering Studies Scott Bartholomew 801-422-6310 scottbartholomew@byu.edu 230-F SNLB
Theater & Media Arts Dean Duncan 801-422-3437 dean_duncan@byu.edu 184 WCO
Womens Studies Valerie Hegstrom 801-422-3191 valerie_hegstrom@byu.edu 3148 JFSB